Pro-longing your golden summer tan

People say that the most depressing part of a holiday is the flight home. But in my opinion, the most depressing part of a holiday has got to be the moment you realise your tan is going to start fading. (Of course it doesn’t really count if you get a tan – but you can see where I’m going here.)

Tanning by the pool in Tunisia

Tanning by the pool in Tunisia

When tanning, the sun actually tans the first layer of your skin – whether that is a fresh layer of skin or dead skin that will soon fall off. Therefore, I made sure I treated myself to a Turkish bath on my first day of my holiday. It’s basically a steam session, then a good scrub to remove all of the dead skin from the body, revealing soft new skin that is perfect for pro-longing a tan.

Two weeks before my holiday...

Two weeks before my holiday…

After two blissful weeks in the scorching heat of Tunisia, I went from an olive skin (I am olive right?) into a beautiful bronzed goddess. I loved how with each day that I sunbathed, my tan line grew more and more noticeable.

The last night on my two week holiday

The last night on my two week holiday

I would spend hours at a time laying on the sun bed and soaking up the vitamin D.

But now that I am back in London, I have done as much as I can to ensure that my tan lasts as long as it possible can – even if I have to start faking it!

My chosen beauty products to help pro-long my summer tan.

My chosen beauty products to help pro-long my summer tan.

  • Soap & Glory Scrub ‘Em and Leave ‘Em™ Body Buff 300ml (Boots – £8)

I noticed that my skin started to get a bit patchy – I was looking like a leopard to be honest. It was basically my skin slowly peeling off section at a time and it wasn’t a pretty sight. A good friend of mine recommended I use a body scrub to slowly start removing the rest of the dead skin and make the skin area more even. The Soap & Glory Scrub ‘Em and Leave ‘Em did the perfect job. I didn’t use it every day, as of course the more dead skin that falls of the fainter your tan gets, so I used it every other day until the patches disappeared, then again once new patches appeared.

  • Garnier Ambre Solaire Tan Maintainer 200ml (Superdrug – £3.98)

Keeping the skin hydrated is the best way to delay the process of the skin peeling off, therefore twice a day I moisturised my whole body. With this particular after sun, it came with a subtle tanning ingredient magically mixed into it. Therefore I gradually built up a tan, keeping my skin looking bronzed.

  • Dove Summer Glow Lotion Medium to Dark 250ml (Superdrug – £2.48)

Although, After Sun is the best to use on your skin after a holiday, any normal body lotion still works its magic. This Dove Summer Glow Lotion has a stronger hint of self-tanning added to it. However, the label should warn you that it leaves your skin really glittery! I found this product to be really good at leaving a tan on your skin, however using it every day would make you look orange! Definitely a body lotion, I would alternate with the Garner Ambre Solaire.

(All prices correct at time of posting.)

One thought on “Pro-longing your golden summer tan

Leave a comment